Our Board of Directors

People ineligible for election as BBT Board members are those currently serving as officers of Annual Conference, members of the Annual Conference Standing Committee, and members of the boards for the three other agencies that are reportable to Annual Conference —
Church of the Brethren Inc., Bethany Theological Seminary, and On Earth Peace.

Twelve Brethren from across the United States
comprise the four

Boards that oversee BBT’s work

  • Brethren Benefit Trust
  • Brethren Benefit Trust Inc.
  • Brethren Foundation Inc.
  • Brethren Foundations Funds Inc.

Directors are elected in three ways

  • Four directors are elected by members of Church of the Brethren Pension Plan. Nominees represent employers of user groups including but not limited to the denomination’s 967 churches, 24 district boards, Bethany Theological Seminary, Church of the Brethren Inc., On Earth Peace, six Brethren institutions of higher education, and 22 affiliated retirement communities.
  • Four directors are elected by the Annual Conference delegate body.
  • Four directors are elected by the BBT Board, subject to approval by Annual Conference.

People eligible for election as BBT Board members must

  • Be members of the Church of the Brethren.
  • Have general knowledge of Pension, Insurance, and Foundation programs.
  • Have some expertise in finance, benefits, insurance, accounting, law, information systems, investments, personnel administration, charitable gifts, or health care.

Building financial security

Bettering the world


Brethren Benefit Trust provides retirement benefits, health and welfare benefits, asset management, and financial advocacy to pastors, employees, and members of the greater Church of the Brethren community.

Since it began as the Pension Board in 1943, BBT has been called to serve its members and clients, and we are thankful for that opportunity.